Reuse existing folder after fresh installation of Windows


#1

My Windows installation has been having issues so I’m planning to do a clean format and re-install. My synced Insync folder is on another partition which I won’t be touching. What do I need to do so that on re-installing Insync (after the Windows reinstall), it doesn’t re-download the entire folder? I’d like Insync to be in the same sync state as it is now.


#2

There is an option upon setup to re-use an exisiting folder: How to get started with Insync


#3

Oh, that’s good. Thanks.


#4

I selected the existing folder, but it has still started syncing all files again :frowning: I just noticed that there were 25,000 files left. If I hadn’t noticed, I would’ve exceeded my data limit this month! What can I do to prevent it from re-syncing everything again?


#5

Is it duplicating the files? Or is it just “queued?”

Can you send an email over to support@insynchq.com with the link to this post and your logs so we can check this out?
How to find the log files


#6

Most of the files just got queued up and finished processing immediately. However quite a lot of them got duplicated as File (2), File (3), File (4). Now I’m going through all my files and removing duplicates :frowning: I hope removing duplicates doesn’t delete the originals on the server or something like that. I have sent the logs.

Honestly, Insync is becoming too much of a hassle. Once in a while I need to spend time figuring out why it’s duplicating stuff or why it’s deleting stuff.