Clarifications with the future subscription service fees

Hello, insync community.

I’ve been using insync in my Linux machines for a couple months, and I’m loving it. However, I saw the notice recently regarding the migration to a new subscription service because of business sustainability issues. I want to support insync, but I don’t understand the pricing model you’re proposing and that you’re trying to explain in the GoFundMe page.

My issue is that I bought a sync-only license, and I use it to automatically upload files to OneDrive, Google Drive and Dropbox, and I use multiple accounts in these services. The way the old model was set up allowed me to buy a copy of the software once, and use all the accounts I have set up with the same licence.

However, the GoFundMe page says that the service will cost USD$19.99 yearly “per-account, per-year”. Does this mean if in total the accounts I’m using insync with (say for example, 2 OneDrive accounts, 2 Google Drive accounts, and 1 Dropbox account, for a total of 5 accounts) will count as separate subscriptions? Does that mean if I have 5 different accounts syncing with insync I’ll have to pay USD$99.55? Or does this all mean that for using my 5 associated accounts in these services will all be USD$19.99?

From what it’s stated in the GoFundMe page, it seems it’s the former, but I need to be sure. My problem with this is that if it is this way, insync will become prohibitively expensive to me. This is why it’s important to me to get a clarification.

I am also wanting some clarification. This whole thing sounds like a bait and switch scheme to me.

2 Likes

Hello.

The new pricing will only affect NEW users as existing users are grandfathered to their current plans which means nothing changes for you.

Your plan will remain the same.

Hope this clarifies.

Terence

Okay, that’s a relief. However, I was mostly asking because of what it says on the GoFundMe page, and I quote: