FAQ on Security

security
insync
faq

#1

FAQ List

Does Insync store any of my files?
Does Insync store my Google account login information?
Just how secure are my files?
What stuff do we upload to our Insync servers?
What happens when an owner deletes a shared file?
Do you support versioning?

I have more questions, how do I get in touch with the Insync team?

Hit us up on support@insynchq.com and we’ll get back to you as soon as possible :blush:


Documentation you should check out
#3

Does Insync store any of my files?

No we don’t. None of your files ever pass through our servers.


Clarification about Insynchq servers
#4

Does Insync store my Google account login information?

Insync stores your Google email address but never your Google account password.

Insync uses Google OAuth (Authorization Tokens) for authentication and authorization. OAuth is an open standard authorization protocol that allows third parties to access user data without the need to know a user’s password.


#5

Just how secure are my files?

Insync syncs the files directly to Google Drive’s SSL connection (a secured connection).

You give Insync access to your files via Google OAuth. Files are directly accessed via the client app to sync your files.


#6

What stuff do we upload to our Insync servers?

We store your Google email address (never your passwords and account information), your platform (OS version) and Google Drive quota info (total, used, others, trashed).


#7

What happens when an owner deletes a shared file?

The file gets deleted across all computers shared.


#8

Do you support versioning?

Yes. You can view versions of your documents using Google Drive on the web.

Google Drive will automatically delete revisions after 30 days or 100 revisions, unless you choose not to automatically delete them. If something isn’t set to be automatically deleted, it’ll take up storage space.

We will be adding a right-click feature for versioning.


#14

#15