Unsync file doesn't delete it from computer


#1

Hi.

Recently I unsync some large files on my linux machine and the insync app shows me a warning telling me that the file will be removed from this computer but it will remain in google drive. But after checking the location of the files in my machine, i see that they are still there.

insync 1.4.9
arch linux x64 (kde)


#2

Are these files directly in the Insync/Google Drive top level folder or are they saved externally? I believe files are only locally deleted in the former case.


#3

The files are inside a teamdrive. Inside the teamdrive are several folders and subfolder. I unsync some files that are inside this folders and subfolders.
Also, recently I have changed the default location of the my drive and teamdrive folders.


#4

I also unsync a teamdrive that is in a personalized location. Same behaviour


#5

Hey @nsanz,

Apologies for only getting back to you now. Unsyncing your files inside the Team Drive should delete the local files. Could you email us at support@insynchq.com with your log files and a link to this topic so our engineers can take a look at the issue? You can learn how to get your log files here.


#6

Recently I synced an iso file (teamdriveX/folder1/folder2/iso.iso), using the ui and telling insync that sync only that file. Today I remembered to delete it on my computer (unsync), as I don’t need it for now. Now this iso file got deleted on the pc, so it look like the problem disappear. Is normal that the folder path isn’t deleted?

*just to mention, this iso is in another temdrive folder that I have never sync it to my computer before and I haven’t make any test on the problematic one (the temadrive where the problem was present).


#7

Hey @nsanz,

If you unsynced the file only and not the folder, then only the file will be unsynced (or in your case, deleted). If you wish to have the folder deleted, you can unsync it. :slight_smile:


#8

Just to add some information to the process I made:

  1. using partial sync I tell insync to sync (download) a file that is inside subfolder of a teamdrive
  2. after some days I tell insync to unsync this file.

The file got unsynced (deleted from my computer) but the folder path don’t. The folder path hasn’t any file synced inside it. Also All folders and files in that teamdrive are unsynced and the insync UI show me only the option of sync.

That the folder path is still there isn’t anoing, at least for me, but I mentioned it because I expected that it got deleted from my pc when I unsync all files inside it.

If you unsynced the file only and not the folder, then only the file will be unsynced (or in your case, deleted). If you wish to have the folder deleted, you can unsync it.

In this topic, when I mention:

I also unsync a teamdrive that is in a personalized location. Same behaviour

I did that, unsync the teamdrive folder, but that time the folder, and all files inside it, wasn’t deleted on my computer.