Best practices for syncing vs backup

Hi, I have been using insync since 2015. using the sync function to mirror my folder structures in my workstation: project files, all sorts of material. and this all worked fine.

since then I now have internet fiber so upload is fast, and also have unlimited cloud space. I want to use that to backup/mirror my files in a way that is relatively safe.

now came to a situation where I realized that by mirroring my structures - is not really like backup. if by accident I delete something in my workstation, it will immediately get deleted in the cloud…

so I wonder, should I be using the backup feature? in addition? for now I can’t use both…

I wish I could sync to a virtual drive so that I can see the structure and control the process. it seems google drive client has that feature, not insync.

what is your backup/sync routine? do you use both? any other thoughts?

thanks.

2 Likes

@Yooofi Thank you so much for opening this discussion!

1 Like

I would share my thoughts with this so far.

I have tried backup with insync. I am missing some control. syncing has been working great and with easy, but backing up - that’s a different story. the fact that sync can’t work in conjunction with backup is a a problem for me. I want to backup my project but have certain folder with sync also (to send to clients).

what I am trying now is using syncbackpro app to back up straight to my drive (you can do that with syncbackpro), this way I would backup each day to the drive, know exactly how long files are saved after deletion, have versions, and keep insync for the sync only process.

1 Like